top of page
  • Writer's picturebothsidesofthecurtain

25 Broadway Love Songs for Valentine's Day

With Valentine’s Day on the horizon, love is in the air!


Whether you are spending the day curled up with a special someone or a Netflix series, there is no denying the day’s sparkle… And what better way to celebrate love than with some of Broadway’s greatest love songs. Musical theatre is a genre overflowing with love songs of all kinds, but in celebration of the day (and to save myself some more decision making) I decided to stick with those favourites which express romantic love.


I am a Golden Age gal, so you will find a decent amount of Rodgers and Hammerstein, but I worked to create a playlist that incorporates the works of Irving Berlin all the way through to Sara Barellies.


Grab some tissues and happy listening!


All I Ask Of You - The Phantom of the Opera by Andrew Lloyd Webber

“Love me

That’s all I ask of you.”

John Riddle (Raoul) and Meghan Picerno (Christine). Photo by Matthew Murphy

You Matter To Me - Waitress by Sara Barellies

“You matter to me,

Simple and plain and not much to ask from somebody.”

Katharine McPhee (Jenna) and David Hunter (Dr. Pomatter). Photo by Johan Presson


On The Street Where You Live - My Fair Lady by Alan Jay Lerner Lerner and Frederick Loewe


Christian Dante White (Freddy). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“All at once am I several stories high

Knowing I'm on the street where you live”


Ten Minutes Ago - Cinderella by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II


Santino Fontana (Prince Topher) and Laura Osnes (Ella). Photo by Sara Krulwich.

“I wanted to ring out the bells

And fling out my arms

And to sing out the news.”


Origin of Love - Hedwig and the Angry Inch by Stephen Trask


Darren Criss (Hedwig). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“That's the pain

That cuts a straight line down through the heart

We call it love.”


One Second and A Million Miles - The Bridges of Madison County by Jason Robert Brown


Steven Pasquale (Robert) and Kelli O'Hara (Francesca). Photo by Sara Krulwich.

“You and I have just one second

And a million miles to go.”


Something Wonderful - The King And I by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II


Ruthie Ann Miles (Lady Thiang). Photo by Paul Kolnick.

“A man who needs your love

Can be wonderful.”


As Long As You’re Mine - Wicked by Stephen Schwartz


Aaron Tveit (Fiyero) and Kerry Ellis (Elphaba). Photo Source: TodayTix.

“Borrow the moonlight

Until it is through

And know I'll be here

Holding you”


Something To Believe In - Newsies by Alan Menken


Liana Hunt (Katherine) and Corey Cott (Jack). Photo by Matthew Murphy.

“I have something to believe in

Now that I know you believed in me.”


Seven Wonders - Catch Me If You Can by Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman


Aaron Tveit (Frank) and Kerry Butler (Brenda). Photo Source Currently Unknown.

“But all the seven wonders

Well they can't compare to you”


Easy to Love - Anything Goes by Cole Porter


Laura Osnes (Hope) and Colin Donnell (Billy). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“'Cause you'd be oh, so easy to love.”.


All Of You - Silk Stockings by Cole Porter


“So love at least a small percent of me too,

Cause I love all of you.”


If I Loved You - Carousel by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II


Laura Osnes (Julie) and Steven Pasquale (Billy). Photo byTodd Rosenburg.

“If I loved you,

Words wouldn’t come in an easy way.”


My White Knight - The Music Man by Meredith Wilson


Danielle Wade (Marian). Photo by Cylla von Tiedemann.

“And if occasionally he’d ponder,

What made Shakespeare and Beethoven great,

Him I could love til I die.”


There Once Was A Man - The Pajama Game by Richard Adler and Jerry Ross


Harry Connick Jr. (Sid) and Kelli O'Hara (Babe). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“But me,

I love you more.”


Say It Somehow - The Light In The Piazza by Adam Guettel


Rob Houchen (Fabrizio) and Solea Pfeiffer (Clara). Photo by Liz Lauren.

“I think I hear

The sound of love”


I’ve Never Been In Love Before - Guys and Dolls by Frank Loessor


Kate Jennings Grant (Sarah) and Craig Bierko (Sky). Photo byCarol Rosegg.

“I'm full of foolish song

And out my song must pour”


Tonight (Balcony Scene) - West Side Story by Leonard Bernstein


Ali Ewoldt (Maria) and Kyle Harris (Tony). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“And what was just a world

Is a star.”


Some Enchanted Evening - South Pacific by Richard Rodgers and Oscar Hammerstein II


Paulo Szot (Emile) and Kelli O'Hara (Nellie). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“Who can explain it, who can tell you why?

Fools give you reasons, wise men never try.”


I Got Lost In His Arms - Annie Get Your Gun by Irving Berlin


“I got lost

But look what I found.”


She Loves Me - She Loves Me by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick


Laura Benanti (Amalia) and Zachary Levi (George). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“I'd like to scrawl on every wall I see.

She loves me.”


Speak Low - One Touch of Venus by Kurt Weill


“Will you speak low to me,

Speak love to me and soon.”


Suddenly Seymour - Little Shop of Horrors by Alan Menken and Howard Ashman


Jonathan Groff (Seymour) and Tammy Blanchard (Audrey). Photo Source: The New York Post.

“Suddenly, Seymour is here to provide me

Sweet understanding, Seymour's my friend"


Her Voice - The Little Mermaid by Alan Menken, Howard Ashman, and Glenn Slater


Sean Palmer (Prince Eric). Photo by Joan Marcus.

“And her voice

It's sweet as angels sighing”


You Shine - Carrie by Dean Pitchford and Michael Gore


Derek Klena (Tommy) and Christy Altamore (Sue). Photo Source: Showreel.

“From where you stand

It might not be clear

But you shine from here”


Wishing everyone a Happy Valentine’s Day, however you choose to celebrate.



What’s YOUR favourite Broadway Love Song? Leave a comment and let us know!

143 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page