top of page
  • Writer's picturebothsidesofthecurtain

Musical Theatre Songs That Make Me Cry

If you know me, you know that I cry at the drop of a hat, especially during a musical.


The other day, I was watching my favourite performance of Wheels Of A Dream from Ragtime, and started to think:


What are my favourite tear-jerker songs in musicals?


And so, I decided to share a top ten, in no particular order:


Wheels Of A Dream from Ragtime


And here is a link to the performance mentioned above:

Seriously, one of the best things you'll ever see.


Everything I Know from In The Heights



I’ll Cover You Reprise from Rent


We all know and love the movie version, but THIS was something special.


You’ll Never Walk Alone from Carousel



Days and Days from Fun Home


Featuring the late great Rebecca Luker:


Edelweiss from The Sound of Music


This might actually be the first showtune I ever cried during.

I have so many fond memories of watching this movie with my grandparents growing up.

Of course, this scene where the Captain shares a tender moment with his children is touching, but the real tears come when it's reprised in the second act:

Today, the world lost legendary Canadian actor Christopher Plummer, and while he was so much more than Captain Von Trapp, I spent a lot of time today watching these beautiful scenes.

May he rest in peace, and may his legacy live on in the art he left behind.


For Good from Wicked



I Will Never Leave You from SideShow



Time Heals Everything from Mack and Mabel



Literally All Of Waitress


I tried really pick one song from Waitress, but I honestly cried all the way through this show both times I saw it, so...


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page