top of page
  • Writer's picturebothsidesofthecurtain

What's In My Bag?: Rehearsal Edition

I am back in the rehearsal room to perform in a live musical for the first time in years, and I am so excited! It also means I’m packing a rehearsal bag for the first time in a long time, so I thought we could do it together.



Of course, there are a few things that are self-explanatory:

Script/Score

Deodorant

Water Bottle & Snack


2 Masks - Every company has different COVID-19 policies these days, and each cast member will have different comfort levels during the rehearsal process. Having a mask on hand is generally a good idea these days, but I recommend bringing an extra one, ESPECIALLY if you’re singing masked. It definitely reduces the ick factor.


Grether’s - I bought a pack of these in 2019 based on my friend’s recommendation and used them rarely. Then COVID hit and I was wearing a mask while working full time - add in talking and singing in one and PHEW! I just had to buy a new pack of these because of how often I use them to keep myself from getting too dry.


Running Shoes & Character Shoes - Even if you know you’re going to be in a character heel, bring a running shoe! My general rule is to start rehearsing in show shoes as soon as possible, but you also want to keep your feet comfortable and avoid injury - having a backup pair of running shoes will save your toes!


Tennis Ball - Foam rollers are great for sore muscles, but can be difficult to carry around with you. A tennis ball can do the same job, and is easier to bring along.


Recording Device - I always just use my phone, but having something to record vocal work and choreography can be a useful tool for practicing on your own .


An Activity - Rehearsals can be long and there can be periods of time when you’re not needed in what is being worked on. I recommend bringing a small activity to give your brain a break and fill the time, as long as it’s easy to put down when you’re called back.


Let me know what you bring to rehearsal in the comments below!


754 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page